Mississippi Department of Corrections
723 North President Street

Jackson Mississippi 39202

601.359.5600

Alternatives to
Incarceration

A publication by the Mississippi Department of Corrections for use
by Circuit Courts, District Attorneys, Public Defenders, Law
Enforcement & interested parties

Christopher B. Epps
Commissioner

Revised July 1, 2007




Message from the Commissioner

The Mississippi Department of Corrections is charged with the care, custody, control
and treatment of over 50,000 convicted felons over half of whom are serving their
sentences in the Community. MDOC'’s fundamental mission is provide these services
while exercising due diligence to ensure public safety.

In 1995 the Legislature passed “Truth in Sentencing” mandating that inmates serve
85% of their sentence. The 1995 fiscal year ended with an inmate population of
12,007 and a budget of $119.3 million. By the end of the 2007 fiscal year the inmate
population has grown to 22,141and the budget has increased to $306.3 million.
These figures dramatically demonstrate the need to use alternatives to incarceration
to curtail the ever increasing cost of incarceration.

This publication has been prepared by MDOC to summarize programs that offer
alternatives to incarceration or limited incarceration for offenders who meet certain
criteria. MDOC is committed to providing excellence in both correctional policy and
public service.

The Community Corrections Programs in this report can help provide relief to the
State’s escalating prison costs while maintaining public safety and providing
opportunities for rehabilitation.

Christopher B. Epps
Commissioner
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Introduction

This publication is for Circuit Courts, District Attorneys, Public Defenders, Law
Enforcement and other interested parties. State Statutes offer several programmatic
options to punish offenders that do not require incarceration in a correctional facility.
The following programs are available:

e Pre-Trial Diversion

e Non-Adjudicated Probation

e Suspended Sentence Probation

e Drug Courts

e |Intensive Supervision Program (House Arrest)

Other programs require an offender’s incarceration, but in a less restrictive
environment and for a limited period of time. The following programs are available:

e Regimented Inmate Discipline (RID)
e Restitution Centers
e Post Release Supervision

Included in this publication is a brief description of each program as well criteria and
applicable state statutes.




Pre-Trial Diversion

The Pre-Trial Diversion Program is an alternative to traditional sentencing available
for utilization by the District Attorney’s Office in conjunction with the Circuit Court.
The purpose of this program is to provide the defendant with an opportunity to avoid a
felony conviction. Each Circuit Court has different requirements, forms and
procedures to follow for application to this program.

Once a defendant has been indicted and arraigned, the defense attorney may request
a referral for placement in the Pre-Trial Diversion program under the control of the
District Attorney’s office. The defendant is investigated and if the District Attorney
approves the offender’s placement into the program, a diversion or remand order is
issued by the Circuit Court. The order will include rules, regulations and conditions
required for participation in the program. In the event the defendant fails to comply
with program requirements, the District Attorney may file a motion to reinstate the
case to the court docket.

This program is for first time offenders who have no significant history of prior
delinquency or criminal activity where it is reasonable to anticipate that justice will be
served and the offender appears unlikely to be involved in further criminal activity.

Eligibility Requirements

e Must be a first time offender

Disqualifiers

o Offenders with a significant history of prior delinquency or criminal activity are
not eligible.

o Offenders who are a threat to the community are not eligible.

o Offenders previously accepted into an alternative program are not eligible.

e Offenders charged with violent crimes including, but not limited to, murder,
aggravated assault, rape, armed robbery, manslaughter or burglary of a
dwelling are not eligible.

o Offenders charged with sale, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribution or
dispensing of a controlled substance or the possession of a controlled
substance with the intent to sell, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribute or
dispense a controlled substance (except when the controlled substance
involved is one (1) ounce or less of marijuana) are not eligible.

o Offenders charged with possession of one (1) kilogram or more of marijuana
in violation of Miss Code Ann 41-29-13 (c)(2)(D) are not eligible.

Applicable Statutes
§ 41-29-139

§ 99-15-101 through § 99-15-127




Non-Adjudicated Probation

Non-adjudicated probation is a form of probation whereupon successful completion,
the case is dismissed and the offender’s record may be expunged. There are two non-
adjudicated probation statues presently used by the Courts.

Section 41-29 -150 pertains to drug offenses and Section 99-15-26 pertains to non-
drug offenses. When an offender is placed on non-adjudicated probation, he enters a
guilty plea, but the Court withholds acceptance of the plea and imposition of sentence
pending successful completion of conditions imposed by the Court. At the end of the
term of probation, if all conditions have been successfully completed and all monies
owed to the Court and to victims have been paid, the offender is discharged and the
case dismissed.

If an offender sentenced under the non-adjudication statute violates the rules and
regulations established for this program, the person must go through the revocation
process as any probationer would. The Court may accept the guilty plea and impose
sentence.

Eligibility Requirements

e Offenders must be low risk and non violent

Disqualifiers

e Offenders with prior felony convictions are not eligible

e Offenders charged with a crime against a person are not eligible

o Offenders charged with an offense under the Implied Consent Law are not
eligible

e Offenders who have previously qualified for non-adjudication are not eligible

o Offenders charged with sale, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribution or
dispensing of a controlled substance or the possession of a controlled
substance with the intent to sell, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribute or
dispense a controlled substance (except when the controlled substance
involved is one (1) ounce or less of marijuana) are not eligible

e Offenders charged with possession of one (1) kilogram or more of marijuana in
violation of Miss Code Ann 41-29-13 (c) (2) (D) are not eligible

Applicable Statutes
§ 41-29-139

§ 41-29-150
§ 99-15-26




Suspended Sentence Probation

In certain instances upon conviction of an offender of acceptance of a guilty plea the
Court may determine that it is in the best interest of justice to suspend execution of an
offender’s sentence and place him/her on probation. The period of probation shall be
fixed by the Court and may be extended or terminated at any time by the Court. Ex-
tension shall not exceed five (5) years except that in cases of desertion and/or failure
to support minor children the period of probation may be fixed and/or extended by the
Court for as long as a duty to support such minor children exists.

Probationers must comply with all court ordered conditions and may be required to pay
all fines, court costs and restitution. Failure to comply with the terms of probation may
result in revocation of the offender’s probation and imposition of all or part of the sus-
pended sentence.

Eligibility Requirements

Must be a first time offender

Disqualifiers

Offenders with a prior felony conviction in any court or courts of the United States
or any state or territory are not eligible.

Offenders convicted a crime in which a death sentence or life imprisonment is the
maximum penalty are not eligible.

Applicable Statutes
§ 47-7-33

§ 47-7-5 through § 47-7-49



Drug Court

Drug Courts are specifically designed to handle drug-using offenders with
comprehensive supervision including immediate sanctions, incentives, and drug
testing and treatment programs. Offenders sentenced to this program appear before
Court on a regular basis, usually weekly. The supervising officer also appears before
the Court to report on the offender’s progress. Failure of the offender to appear
before the Court or non-compliance with the treatment program may result in
expulsion from the program and a new sentence imposed by the Court.

Eligibility Requirements
e Offenders must be low risk and nonviolent.

Disqualifiers

e Offenders charged with a violent crime or who have a prior conviction for a
violent crime are not eligible.

o Offenders charged with residential burglary are not eligible.

e Offenders charged with sale, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribution or
dispensing of a controlled substance or the possession of a controlled
substance with the intent to sell, barter, transfer, manufacture, distribute or
dispense a controlled substance are not eligible.

o Offenders charged with a DUI resulting in a death are not eligible.

Applicable Statutes
§ 9-23-01 through § 9-23-23




Intensive Supervision Program (House Arrest)

The Intensive Supervision Program (ISP) allows low-risk, non-violent offenders to
serve their felony conviction sentence in an approved residence in the Community.
Offenders wear electronic monitoring equipment for curfew management that detects
presence or absence from the residence and alerts the supervising field officer
according to parameters tailored to the offender. Offenders are allowed time away
from home for work, one church service per week, treatment meetings, medical
appointments and other approved activities.

Individuals in this program are classified as inmates under the jurisdiction of MDOC
and must remain within the State of Mississippi at all times. Except in the case of a
medical emergency and approved by the Commissioner of MDOC or by circuit court
order for medical reasons may an inmate leave the state.

Eligible offenders may be placed in the Program by the Court or by MDOC. MDOC
places incarcerated inmates in the program who meet all eligibility requirements and
are within 15 months of their earliest eligible release date.

Non-compliance with program requirements may result in expulsion from the program
and placement into an MDOC facility.

Eligibility Requirements

e Offender must be low risk and non violent

Disqualifiers
e Offenders convicted of a sex crime are not eligible

e Offenders convicted of a felony under Section 41-29-139 (a) (1) to sell, barter,
transfer, manufacture, produce, distribute, dispense a controlled substance or
possess a controlled substance with the intent to sell, barter, transfer,
manufacture, produce, distribute or dispense are not eligible.

e Offenders convicted of a crime where death or life imprisonment may be imposed
are not eligible.

e Offenders currently or previously convicted of a crime involving the use of a deadly
weapon are not eligible.

o Offenders who have been confined for a prior felony conviction by in any court or
courts of the United States or any state or territory thereof are not eligible.

Applicable Statutes
§ 47-5-1001 through § 47-5-1015




Regimented Inmate Discipline Program

The Regimented Inmate Discipline (RID) program began in an effort to expand the
mandates of shock probation by combining a boot camp approach to discipline with
psychological correctional interventions. This combination of paramilitary training with
instructional classes and individual-group counseling offers a unique blend of
rehabilitative techniques that can be applied with success to the earned probation
offender. Offenders participate in structured activities that include Adult Basic
Education (ABE) or General Equivalency Degree (GED) classes, Alcoholics
Anonymous (AA) or Narcotics Anonymous (NA), pre-release screening, religious
instruction, physical fitness, and community service as part of the RID program.

A Court may sentence an offender to a term of incarceration and order the offender’s
placement into the RID Program. Upon successful completion of RID the remainder of
the sentence may be suspended and the offender may be placed on earned probation.
If the offender fails to complete RID, he generally must serve the entire sentence
originally imposed. The Court may retain jurisdiction of offenders sentenced to RID
for up to one year.

Eligibility Requirements
e Offender must be low risk and non-violent.

Disqualifiers

e Offenders convicted a crime where death or life imprisonment is the maximum
sentence that may be imposed are not eligible.

e Offenders currently or previously convicted of a crime involving the use of a
deadly weapon are not eligible.

o Offenders who have been confined two (2) or more times for a felony conviction
in any Court or Courts of the United States or territories are not eligible.

o Offenders charged with a sex crime are not eligible

e Offenders with extensive juvenile histories of criminal activity are not eligible

o Offenders with substantial heath problems are not eligible.

o Offenders who are mentally disabled are not eligible.

e Offenders with psychiatric disorders are not eligible

Applicable Statutes
§ 47-7-47




Restitution Centers

Restitution Centers are residential facilities where offenders are sentenced to live and
participate in the center program as a condition of their probationary sentence.
Residents of the restitution centers are provided a structured environment where work,
work ethics, education and responsibility are taught and enforced. Offenders are
assisted in obtaining employment in the Community and close contact is maintained
with employers to determine both work skills and work attitude. Education needs are
addressed through Adult Basic Education (ABE) and General Equivalency Degree
(GED) test preparation.

Offenders are encouraged to take responsibility for their actions. Staff encourages
this responsibility by requiring job attendance, payment of restitution and other
financial responsibilities. Alcohol and drug counseling, mental health services and
other social services are tailored to meet the needs of individual residents. Offenders
must earn a maximum number of points by demonstrating good behavior and
participating in community service projects in order to complete the restitution
program.

Restitution centers for males are located at Hinds, Leflore, and Jackson Counties.
One center for females is located in Rankin County. Room and board charges,
(maximum $70 per week), restitution fees, court costs, family support and other
charges imposed by the judge are deducted from the offender’s paycheck.

Upon completion of the program, the offender is placed under the supervision of a
field officer for the remainder of the probationary sentence. Failure to successfully
complete the program may result in the original sentence being imposed by the Court.
Eligibility Requirements

e Offender must be employable.

o Offender must be serving a probationary sentence.

Disqualifiers
e Offenders convicted of a violent crime are not eligible.

e Offenders convicted of a sex crime are not eligible

e Offenders who have drug, alcohol or emotional problems that would interfere
with participation in the program are not eligible

Applicable Statues
§ 99-37-19




Post Release Supervision

Post Release Supervision is a period of supervision by MDOC Community Corrections
following a term of incarceration. Upon release from incarceration, the offender is
placed under the supervision of an MDOC field officer and is supervised using the
same standard by which offenders with suspended sentence probation are supervised.
The offender must comply with any additional terms and conditions imposed by the
Court.

The period of supervision will be established by the Court. However, the total number
of years of incarceration plus the total number of years of post release supervision
shall not exceed the maximum sentence authorized by law for the felony committed.
The maximum amount of time that MDOC may supervise an offender on Post Release
Supervision is five (5) years. Extension shall not exceed five (5) years except in
cases of desertion and/or failure to support minor children the period of supervision
may be extended by the Court for as long as duty to support such minor children
exists.

Eligibility Criteria

e Offender must have committed a crime after June 30, 1995

Applicable Statutes
§ 47-7-34 through § 47-7-49




Applicable
Statutes




§9-23-1. Short title

This chapter shall be known and may
be cited as the Alyce Griffin Clarke
Drug Court Act.

§9-23-3. Purpose

(1) The Legislature of Mississippi
recognizes the critical need for judicial
intervention to reduce the incidence of
alcohol and drug use, alcohol and drug
addiction, and crimes committed as a
result of alcohol and drug use and
alcohol and drug addiction. It is the
intent of the Legislature to facilitate
local drug court alternative orders
adaptable to chancery, circuit, county,
youth, municipal and justice courts.

(2) The goals of the drug courts
under this chapter include the
following:

To reduce alcoholism and other drug
dependencies among adult and juvenile
offenders and defendants and among
respondents in juvenile petitions for
abuse, neglect or both;

To reduce criminal and delinquent
recidivism and the incidence of child
abuse and neglect;

To reduce the alcohol-related and other
drug-related court workload;

To increase personal, familial and
societal accountability of adult and
juvenile offenders and defendants and
respondents in juvenile petitions for
abuse, neglect or both; and

To promote effective interaction and
use of resources among criminal and
juvenile justice personnel, child
protective services personnel and
community agencies.

§9-23-5. Definitions

For the purposes of this chapter, the
following words and phrases shall have
the meanings ascribed unless the
context clearly requires otherwise:

(a) “Drug court” means an
immediate and highly structured
intervention process for substance
abuse treatment of eligible defendants
or juveniles that:

(i) Brings together
substance abuse professionals,
local social programs and
intensive judicial monitoring;
and

(i) Follows the key
components of drug courts
published by the Drug Court
Program Office of the United
States Department of Justice.

(b) “Chemical tests” means the
analysis of an individual’s: (i) blood,
(ii) breath, (iii) hair, (iv) sweat, (v)
saliva, (vi) urine; or (vii) other bodily
substance to determine the presence of
alcohol or a controlled substance.

§9-23-7. Certification and
monitoring of local drug courts

The Administrative Office of Courts
shall be responsible for certification
and monitoring of local drug courts
according to standards promulgated by
the State Drug Courts Advisory
Committee.




§9-23-9. State Drug Courts

Advisory Committee

(1) The State Drug Courts Advisory
Committee is established to develop
and periodically update proposed
statewide evaluation plans and models
for monitoring all critical aspects of
drug courts. The committee must
provide the proposed evaluation plans
to the Chief Justice and the
Administrative Office of Courts. The
committee shall be chaired by the
Director of the Administrative Office of
Courts and shall consist of not less
than seven (7) members nor more than
eleven (11) members appointed by the
Supreme Court and broadly
representative of the courts, law
enforcement, corrections, juvenile
justice, child protective services and
substance abuse treatment
communities.

(2) The State Drug Courts Advisory
Committee may also make
recommendations to the Chief Justice,
the Director of the Administrative Office
of Courts and state officials concerning
improvements to drug court policies
and procedures. The committee may
make suggestions as to the criteria for
eligibility, and other procedural and
substantive guidelines for drug court
operation.

(3) The State Drug Courts Advisory
Committee shall act as arbiter of
disputes arising out of the operation of
drug courts established under this
chapter and make recommendations to
improve the drug courts; it shall also
make recommendations to the
Supreme Court necessary and incident
to compliance with established rules.

§9-23-11. Alcohol and drug

intervention component;
requirements; rules and special
orders; appointment of
employees; participation costs

(1) A drug court may establish an
alcohol and drug intervention
component provided all the following
requirements are met:

(a) The drug court established by
the court is certified by the
Administrative Office of Courts;

(b) The court that established the
drug court determines that in order to
fully implement the purposes of the
drug court that the drug and alcohol
intervention component is necessary;
and

(c) The court must submit a petition
for approval to the Administrative
Office of Courts containing the
following:

(i) A full description of a
proposed intervention
component.

(i) A budget supported by
statistics.

(iii) Details on the
implementation of the
intervention component.

(2) Each individual drug court judge
may establish rules and may make
special orders and rules as necessary
that do not conflict with rules
promulgated by the Supreme Court.

(3) A drug court may appoint such
full- or part-time employees it deems
necessary for the work of the drug
court and shall fix the compensation of
those employees. Such employees
shall serve at the will and pleasure of
the judge or the judge’s designee.




(4) Drug court employees or
contractors shall perform duties the
court assigns.

(5) A drug court established under
this article is subject to the regulatory
powers of the Administrative Office of
Courts as set forth in Section 9-23- 17.

(6) Each individual drug court is
responsible for the administration of
the drug and alcohol intervention
component of that court.

(7)(a) The costs of participation in an
alcohol and drug services component
required by the drug court established
by this chapter may be paid by the
participant or out of user fees or such
other state, federal or private funds
that may, from time to time, be made
available.

(b) The court may assess such
reasonable fees for participation and
may impose sanctions that it deems
appropriate.

8§9-23-13. Court intervention
services

(1) A drug court’s alcohol and drug
intervention component may provide for
eligible individuals a range of
necessary court intervention services,
including, but not limited to, the
following:

(a) Screening for eligibility
and other appropriate services;

(b) Clinical assessment;
(c) Education;
(d) Referral;

(e) Service coordination and
case management; and

(f) Counseling and
rehabilitative care.

(2) Any inpatient treatment or
inpatient detoxification program
ordered by the court shall be certified
by the Department of Mental Health,
other appropriate state agency or the
equivalent agency of another state.

§9-23-15. Alternative sentencing
eligibility criteria and conditions

(1) In order to be eligible for
alternative sentencing through a local
drug court, the participant must satisfy
each of the following criteria:

The participant cannot have any
felony convictions for any
offenses which are crimes of
violence.

The crime before the court
cannot be a crime of violence.

Other criminal proceedings
alleging commission of a crime
of violence cannot be pending
against the participant.

The participant cannot have
been currently charged with
burglary of an occupied
dwelling.

The crime before the court
cannot be a charge of driving
under the influence of alcohol
or any other drug or drugs that
resulted in the death of a
person.

The crime charged cannot be
one of distribution, sale,
possession with intent to
distribute, production,

manufacture or cultivation of




(2) A drug court may apply for and receive
the following:

(a) Gifts, bequests and donations from
private sources.

(b) Grant and contract money from
governmental sources.

(c) Other forms of financial assistance
approved by the court to
supplement the budget of the drug
court.

§9-23-21. Immunity

The director and members of the
professional and administrative staff of
the drug court who perform duties in
good faith under this chapter are
immune from civil liability for:

(a) Acts or omissions in providing
services under this chapter; and

(b) The reasonable exercise of
discretion in determining eligibility
to participate in the drug court.

§9-23-23. Completion of program;
expunction of record

If the participant completes all
requirements imposed upon him by the
drug court, including the payment of
fines and fees assessed, the charge
and prosecution shall be dismissed. If
the defendant or participant was
sentenced at the time of entry of plea
of guilty, the successful completion of
the drug court order and other
requirements of probation or
suspension of sentence will result in
the record of the criminal conviction or
adjudication being expunged.
However, no expunction of any implied
consent violation shall be allowed.

§9-23-51. Drug Court Fund

established

There is created in the State Treasury
a special interest-bearing fund to be
known as the Drug Court Fund. The
purpose of the fund shall be to provide
supplemental funding to all drug courts
in the state. Monies from the funds
derived from assessments under
Section 99-19-73 shall be distributed
by the State Treasurer upon warrants
issued by the Administrative Office of
Courts, pursuant to procedures set by
the State Drug Courts Advisory
Committee to assist both juvenile drug
courts and adult drug courts. Funds
from other sources shall be distributed
to the drug courts in the state based on
a formula set by the State Drug Courts
Advisory Committee. The fund shall be
a continuing fund, not subject to fiscal-
year limitations, and shall consist of:
(a) monies appropriated by the
Legislature for the purposes of funding
drug courts; (b) the interest accruing to
the fund; (c) monies received under the
provisions of Section 99-19-73; (d)
monies received from the federal
government; and (e) monies received
from such other sources as may be
provided by law.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§41-29-150. Rehabilitation;
probation; escape; legislative
intent

(a) Any person convicted under section 41-
29-139 may be required, in the
discretion of the court, as a part of the
sentence otherwise imposed, or in lieu
of imprisonment in cases of probation
or suspension of sentence, to attend a




(b)

course of instruction conducted by the
bureau, the state board of health, or
any similar agency, on the effects,
medically, psychologically and socially,
of the misuse of controlled substances.
Said course may be conducted at any
correctional institution, detention center
or hospital, or at any center or
treatment facility established for the
purpose of education and rehabilitation
of those persons committed because of
abuse of controlled substances.

Any person convicted under section 41-
29-139, who is found to be dependent
upon or addicted to any controlled
substance shall be required, as a part
of the sentence otherwise imposed, or
in lieu of imprisonment in cases of
parole, probation or suspension of
sentence, to receive medical treatment
for such dependency or addiction. The
regimen of medical treatment may
include confinement in a medical facility
of any correctional institution, detention
center or hospital, or at any center or
facility established for treatment of
those persons committed because of a
dependence or addiction to controlled
substances.

Those persons previously convicted of
a felony under section 41-29-139 and
who are now confined at the Mississippi
State Hospital at Whitfield, Mississippi,
or at the East Mississippi State Hospital
at Meridian, Mississippi, for the term of
their sentence shall remain under the
jurisdiction of the Mississippi
Department of Corrections and shall be
required to abide by all reasonable
rules and regulations promulgated by
the director and staff of said institutions
and of the department of corrections.
Any persons so confined who shall
refuse to abide by said rules or who
attempt an escape or who shall escape
shall be transferred to the state
penitentiary or to a county jail, where
appropriate, to serve the remainder of
the term of imprisonment; this provision
shall not preclude prosecution and
conviction for escape from said

institutions.

(d)(1) If any person who has not
previously been convicted of violating
section 41-29-139, or the laws of the
United States or of another state
relating to narcotic drugs, stimulant or
depressant substances, other
controlled substances or marihuana is
found to be guilty of a violation of
subsection © or (d) of section 41-29-
139, after trial or upon a plea of guilty,
the court may, without entering a
judgment of guilty and with the consent
of such person, defer further
proceedings and place him on
probation upon such reasonable
conditions as it may require and for
such period, not to exceed three (3)
years, as the court may prescribe.
Upon violation of a condition of the
probation, the court may enter an
adjudication of guilt and proceed as
otherwise provided. The court may, in
its discretion, dismiss the proceedings
against such person and discharge him
from probation before the expiration of
the maximum period prescribed for
such person’s probation. If during the
period of his probation such person
does not violate any of the conditions of
the probation, then upon expiration of
such period the court shall discharge
such person and dismiss the
proceedings against him. Discharge
and dismissal under this subsection
shall be without court adjudication of
guilt, but a nonpublic record thereof
shall be retained by the bureau solely
for the purpose of use by the courts in
determining whether or not, in
subsequent proceedings, such person
qualifies under this subsection. Such
discharge or dismissal shall not be
deemed a conviction for purposes of
disqualifications or disabilities imposed
by law upon conviction of a crime,
including the penalties prescribed
under this article for second or
subsequent conviction, or for any other




purpose.

Discharge and dismissal
under this subsection may occur only
once with respect to any person; and

(2) Upon the dismissal of such person
and discharge of proceedings
against him under paragraph (1) of
this subsection, or with respect to a
person who has been convicted
and adjudged guilty of an offense
under subsection © or (d) of section
41-29-139, or for possession of
narcotics, stimulants, depressants,
hallucinogens, marihuana, other
controlled substances or
paraphernalia under prior laws of
this state, such person, if he had
not reached his twenty-sixth
birthday at the time of the offense,
may apply to the court for an order
to expunge from all official records,
other than the nonpublic records to
be retained by the bureau under
paragraph (1) of this subsection, all
recordation relating to his arrest,
indictment, trial, finding of guilty,
and dismissal and discharge
pursuant to this section. If the court
determines, after hearing, that such
person was dismissed and the
proceedings against him
discharged and that he had not
reached his twenty-sixth birthday at
the time of the offense, or that such
person had satisfactorily served his
sentence or period of probation and
parole, and that he had not reached
his twenty-sixth birthday at the time
of the offense, it shall enter such
order. The effect of such order
shall be to restore such person, in
the contemplation of the law, to the
status he occupied before such
arrest or indictment. No person as
to whom such order has been
entered shall be held thereafter
under any provision of any law to
be guilty of perjury or otherwise
giving a false statement by reason
of his failures to recite or
acknowledge such arrest, or
indictment or trial in response to

(e)

(f)

(9

any inquiry made of him for any

purpose.
Every person who has been or may
hereafter be convicted of a felony
offense under section 41-29-139 and
sentenced under section 41-29-1500
shall be under the jurisdiction of the
Mississippi Department of Corrections.
It shall be unlawful for any person
confined under the provisions of
subsection (b) or (c) of this section to
escape or attempt to escape from said
institution, and upon conviction said
person shall be guilty of a felony and
shall be imprisoned for a term not to
exceed two (2) years.
It is the intent and purpose of the
legislature to promote the rehabilitation
of persons convicted of offenses under
the Uniform Controlled Substances
Law.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

8§41-29-139. Prohibited acts and

penalties; indictments for

traffickin

(@)

Except as authorized by this article, it is
unlawful for any person knowingly or
intentionally:

(1) To sell, barter, transfer,
manufacture, distribute, dispense
or possess with intent to sell,
barter, transfer, manufacture,
distribute or dispense, a controlled
substance; or

(2) To create, sell, barter, transfer,
distribute, dispense or possess with
intent to create, sell, barter,
transfer, distribute or dispense, a
counterfeit substance.




(b) Except as otherwise provided in
subsections (f) and (g) of this section or
in Section 41-29-142, any person who
violates subsection (a) of this section
shall be sentenced as follows:

(1) In the case of controlled
substances classified in Schedule |
or Il, as set out in Sections 41-29-
113 and 41-29-115, except thirty
(30) grams or less of marihuana,
and except a first offender as
defined in Section 41-29-149(e)
who violates subsection (a) of this
section with respect to less than
one (1) kilogram but more than
thirty (30) grams of marihuana,
such person may, upon conviction,
be imprisoned for not more than
thirty (30) years and shall be fined
not less than Five Thousand
Dollars ($5,000.00) nor more than
One Million Dollars
($1,000,000.00), or both;

(2) In the case of a first offender who
violates subsection (a) of this
section with an amount less than
one (1) kilogram but more than
thirty (30) grams of marihuana as
classified in Schedule |, as set out
in Section 41-29-113, such person
is guilty of a felony and upon
conviction may be imprisoned for
not more than twenty (20) years or
fined not more than Thirty
Thousand Dollars ($30,000.00), or
both;

(3) In the case of thirty (30) grams or
less of marihuana, such person
may, upon conviction, be
imprisoned for not more than three
(3) years or fined not more than
Three Thousand Dollars
($3,000.00), or both;

(4) In the case of controlled
substances classified in Schedules
Il and IV, as set out in Sections 41-
29-117 and 41-29-119, such

person may, upon conviction, be
imprisoned for not more than
twenty (20) years and shall be fined
not less than One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00) nor more than
Two Hundred Fifty Thousand
Dollars ($250,000.00), or both; and

(5) In the case of controlled
substances classified in Schedule
V, as set out in Section 41-29-121,
such person may, upon conviction,
be imprisoned for not more than ten
(10) years and shall be fined not
less than One Thousand Dollars
($1,000.00) nor more than Fifty
Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00), or
both.

(c) It is unlawful for any person knowingly

or intentionally to possess any
controlled substance unless the
substance was obtained directly from,
or pursuant to, a valid prescription or
order of a practitioner while acting in
the course of his professional practice,
or except as otherwise authorized by
this article. The penalties for any
violation of this subsection © with
respect to a controlled substance
classified in Schedules |, II, Ill, IV or V,
as set out in Sections 41-29-113, 41-
29-115, 41-29-117, 41-29-119 or 41-
29-121, including marihuana, shall be
based on dosage unit as defined herein
or the weight of the controlled
substance as set forth herein as
appropriate:

“Dosage unit (d.u.)” means a tablet or
capsule, or in the case of a liquid
solution, one (1) milliliter. In the case of
lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) the
term, “dosage unit” means a stamp,
square, dot, microdot, tablet or capsule
of a controlled substance.

For any controlled substance that does
not fall within the definition of the term
“dosage unit,” the penalties shall be




based upon the weight of the controlled
substance.

The weight set forth refers to the entire
weight of any mixture or substance
containing a detectable amount of the
controlled substance.

If a mixture or substance contains more
than one (1) controlled substance, the
weight of the mixture or substance is
assigned to the controlled substance
that results in the greater punishment.

Any person who \violates this
subsection with respect to:

(1) A controlled substance classified in
Schedule | or Il, except marihuana,
in the following amounts shall be
charged and sentenced as follows:

(A) Less than one-tenth (0.1) gram
or one (1) dosage unit or less
may be charged as a
misdemeanor or felony. If
charged by indictment as a
felony: by imprisonment not
less than one (1) nor more than
four (4) years and a fine not
more than Ten Thousand
Dollars  ($10,000.00). If
charged as a misdemeanor: by
imprisonment for up to one (1)
year and a fine not more than
One Thousand Dollars
($1,000.00).

(B) One-tenth (0.1) gram but less
than two (2) grams or two (2)
dosage units but less than ten
(10) dosage units, by
imprisonment for not less than
two (2) years nor more than
eight (8) years and a fine of not
more than Fifty Thousand
Dollars ($50,000.00).

(C) Two (2) grams but less than ten
(10) grams or ten (10) dosage
units but less than twenty (20)
dosage units, by imprisonment
for not less than four (4) years
nor more than sixteen (16)

years and a fine of not more
than Two Hundred Fifty
Thousand Dollars
($250,000.00).

(D) Ten (10) grams but less than
thirty (30) grams or twenty (20)
dosage units but not more than
forty (40) dosage units, by
imprisonment for not less than
six (6) years nor more than
twenty-four (24) years and a
fine of not more than Five
Hundred Thousand Dollars
($500,000.00).

(E) Thirty (30) grams or more or
forty (40) dosage units or more,
by imprisonment for not less
than ten (10) years nor more
than thirty (30) years and a fine
of not more than One Million
Dollars ($1,000,000.00).

(2) Marihuana in the following amounts
shall be charged and sentenced as
follows:

(A) Thirty (30) grams or less by a
fine of not less than One
Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor
more than Two Hundred Fifty
Dollars  ($250.00). The
provisions of this paragraph
shall be enforceable by
summons, provided the
offender provides proof of
identity ~satisfactory to the
arresting officer and gives
written promise to appear in
court satisfactory to the
arresting officer, as directed by
the summons. A second
conviction under this section
within two (2) years shall be
punished by a fine of Two
Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00)
and not less than five (5) days
nor more than sixty (60) days in
the county jail and mandatory
participation in a drug




controlled substances, nor can
the participant have a prior
conviction for same.

(2) Participation in the services of
an alcohol and drug intervention
component shall be open only to the
individuals over whom the court has
jurisdiction, except that the court may
agree to provide the services for
individuals referred from another drug
court. In cases transferred from
another jurisdiction, the receiving judge
shall act as a special master and make
recommendations to the sentencing
judge.

(3)(a) As a condition of participation in
a drug court, a participant may be
required to undergo a chemical test or
a series of chemical tests as specified
by the drug court. A participant is
liable for the costs of all chemical tests
required under this section, regardless
of whether the costs are paid to the
drug court or the laboratory; provided,
however, if testing is available from
other sources or the program itself, the
judge may waive any fees for testing.

(b) A laboratory that performs a
chemical test under this section shall
report the results of the test to the drug
court.

(4) A person does not have a right
to participate in drug court under this
chapter.

§9-23-17. Powers of
Administrative Office of Courts

With regard to any drug court
established under this act, the
Administrative Office of Courts may do
the following:

(@) Ensure that the structure of the

intervention component complies with
rules adopted under this section and
applicable federal regulations.

(b) Revoke the authorization of a
program upon a determination that
the program does not comply with
rules adopted under this section and
applicable federal regulations.

(c) Make agreements and contracts to
effectuate the purposes of this
chapter with:

(i) Another department, authority
or agency of the state;

(i) Another state;

(iii) The federal government;

(iv) A state-supported or private
university; or

(v) A public or private agency,
foundation, corporation or
individual.

(d) Directly, or by contract, approve
and certify any intervention
component established under this
chapter.

(e) Require, as a condition of
operation, that each drug court
created or funded under this act be
certified by the Administrative
Office of Courts.

(f) Adopt rules to implement this
chapter.

§9-23-19. Special fund; gifts,
grants, and other funding
sources

(1) All monies received from any source by
the drug court shall be accumulated in
a fund to be used only for drug court
purposes. Any funds remaining in this
fund at the end of a fiscal year shall not
lapse into any general fund, but shall
be retained in the drug court fund for
the funding of further activities by the
drug court.




education program, approved
by the Division of Alcohol and
Drug Abuse of the State
Department of Mental Health,
unless the court enters a
written finding that such drug
education program is
inappropriate. A third or
subsequent conviction under
this section within two (2) years
is a misdemeanor punishable
by a fine of not less than Two
Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00)
nor more than Five Hundred
Dollars ($500.00) and
confinement for not less than
five (5) days nor more than six
(6) months in the county jail.
Upon a first or second
conviction under this section,
the courts shall forward a report
of such conviction to the
Mississippi Bureau of
Narcotics, which shall make
and maintain a private,
nonpublic record for a period
not to exceed two (2) years
from the date of conviction.
The private, nonpublic record
shall be solely for the use of the
courts in determining the
penalties which attach upon
conviction under this section
and shall not constitute a
criminal record for the purpose
of private or administrative
inquiry and the record of each
conviction shall be expunged at
the end of the period of two (2)
years following the date of such
conviction;

(B) Additionally, a person who is

the operator of a motor vehicle,
who possesses on his person
or knowingly keeps or allows to
be kept in a motor vehicle
within the area of the vehicle
normally occupied by the driver
or passengers, more than one
(1) gram, but not more than
thirty (30) grams, of marihuana

is guilty of a misdemeanor and
upon conviction may be fined
not more than One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00) and
confined for not more than
ninety (90) days in the county
jail.  For the purposes of this
subsection, such area of the
vehicle shall not include the
trunk of the motor vehicle or the
areas not normally occupied by
the driver or passengers if the
vehicle is not equipped with a
trunk. A utility or glove
compartment shall be deemed
to be within the area occupied
by the driver and passengers;

(C) More than thirty (30) grams but

less than two hundred fifty
(250) grams may be fined not
more than One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00), or confined
in the county jail for not more
than one (1) year, or both; or
fined not more than Three
Thousand Dollars ($3,000.00),
or imprisoned in the State
Penitentiary for not more than
three (3) years, or both;

(D) Two hundred fifty (250) grams

(E)

(F)

but less than five hundred (500)
grams, by imprisonment for not
less than two (2) years nor
more than eight (8) years and
by a fine of not more than Fifty
Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00);
Five hundred (500) grams but
less than one (1) kilogram, by
imprisonment for not less than
four (4) years nor more than
sixteen (16) years and a fine of
less than Two Hundred Fifty
Thousand Dollars
($250,000.00);

One (1) kilogram but less than
five (5) kilograms, by
imprisonment for not less than
six (6) years nor more than
twenty-four (24) years and a
fine of not more than Five

Hundred Thousand Dollars




($500,000.00);

(G) Five (5) kilograms or more, by
imprisonment for not less than
ten (10) years nor more than
thirty (30) years and a fine of
not more than One Million
Dollars ($1,000,000.00).

(3) A controlled substance classified in
Schedule I, IV or V as set out in
Sections 41-29-117 through 41-29-
121, upon conviction, may be
punished as follows:

(A)

Less than fifty (50) grams or
less than one hundred (100)
dosage units is a misdemeanor
and punishable by not more
than one (1) year and a fine of
not more than One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00).

Fifty (50) grams but less than
one hundred fifty (150) grams
or one hundred (100) dosage
units but less than five hundred
(500) dosage units, by
imprisonment for not less than
one (1) year nor more than four
(4) years and a fine of not more
than Ten Thousand Dollars
($10,000.00).

(C) One hundred fifty (150) grams

but less than three hundred
(300) grams or five hundred
(500) dosage units but less
than one thousand (1,000)
dosage units, by imprisonment
for not less than two (2) years
nor more than eight (8) years
and a fine of not more than
Fifty Thousand Dollars
($50,000.00).

(D) Three hundred (300) grams but

less than five hundred (500)
grams or one thousand (1,000)
dosage units but less than two
thousand five hundred (2,500)
dosage units, by imprisonment
for not less than four (4) years

nor more than sixteen (16)
years and a fine of not more
than Two Hundred Fifty
Thousand Dollars
($250,000.00).

(E) Five hundred (500) grams or
more or two thousand five
hundred (2,500) dosage units
or more, by imprisonment for
not less than six (6) years nor
more than twenty-four (24)
years and a fine of not more
than Five Hundred Thousand
Dollars ($500,000.00).

(d) (1) Itis unlawful for a person who is not

authorized by the State Board of
Medical Licensure, State Board of
Pharmacy, or other lawful authority to
use, or to possess with intent to use,
paraphernalia to plant, propagate,
cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture,
compound, convert, produce, process,
prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack,
store, contain, conceal, inject, ingest,
inhale or otherwise introduce into the
human body a controlled substance in
violation of the Uniform Controlled
Substances Law. Any person who
violates this subsection is guilty of a
misdemeanor and upon conviction may
be confined in the county jail for not
more than six (6) months, or fined not
more than Five Hundred Dollars
($500.00), or both; however, no person
shall be charged with a violation of this
subsection when such person is also
charged with the possession of one (1)
ounce or less of marihuana under
subsection © (2) (A) of this section.

(2) It is unlawful for any person to
deliver, sell, possess with intent to
deliver or sell, or manufacture with
intent to deliver or sell, paraphernalia,
knowing, or under circumstances where
one reasonably should know, that it will
be used to plant, propagate, cultivate,
grow, harvest, manufacture, compound,




convert, produce, process, prepare,
test, analyze, pack, repack, store,
contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale,
or otherwise introduce into the human
body a controlled substance in violation
of the Uniform Controlled Substances
Law. Any person who violates this
subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor
and upon conviction may be confined in
the county jail for not more than six (6)
months or fined not more than Five
Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or both.

(3) Any person eighteen (18) years of
age or over who \Vviolates
subsection (d) (2) of this section by
delivering or selling paraphernalia
to a person under eighteen (18)
years of age who is at least three
(3) years his junior is guilty of a
misdemeanor and upon conviction
may be confined in the county jail
for not more than one (1) year, or
fined not more than One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00), or both.

(4) It is unlawful for any person to
place in any newspaper, magazine,
handbill, or other publication any
advertisement, knowing, or under
circumstances where one
reasonably should know, that the
purpose of the advertisement, in
whole or in part, is to promote the
sale of objects designed or
intended for use as paraphernalia.
Any person who violates this
subsection is guilty of a
misdemeanor and upon conviction
may be confined in the county jail
for not more than six (6) months or
fined not more than Five Hundred
Dollars ($500.00), or both.

(e) It shall be unlawful for any physician

practicing medicine in this state to
prescribe, dispense or administer any
amphetamine or amphetamine-like
anorectics and/or central nervous
system stimulants classified in
Schedule I, pursuant to Section 41-29-
115, for the exclusive treatment of

(f)

obesity, weight control or weight loss.
Any person who \violates this
subsection, upon conviction, is guilty of
a misdemeanor and may be confined
for a period not to exceed six (6)
months, or fined not more than One
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or both.

Except as otherwise authorized in this
article, any person twenty-one (21)
years of age or older who knowingly
sells, barters, transfers, manufactures,
distributes or dispenses during any
twelve (12) consecutive month period:
(i) ten (10) pounds or more of
marihuana; (ii) two (2) ounces or more
of heroin; (iii) two (2) or more ounces of
cocaine or of any mixture containing
cocaine as described in Section 41-29-
105(s), Mississippi Code of 1972; (iv)
two (2) or more ounces of
methamphetamine; or (v) one hundred
(100) or more dosage units of
morphine, Demerol, Dilaudid,
oxycodone hydrochloride or a
derivative thereof, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine
(MDMA) shall be guilty of a felony and,
upon conviction thereof, shall be
sentenced to life imprisonment and
such sentence shall not be reduced or
suspended nor shall such person be
eligible for probation or parole, the
provisions of Sections 41-29-149, 47-5-
139, 47-7-3 and 47-7-33, Mississippi
Code of 1972, to the contrary
notwithstanding. The provisions of this
subsection shall not apply to any
person who furnishes information and
assistance to the bureau or its
designee, which, in the opinion of the
trial judge objectively should or would
have aided in the arrest or prosecution
of others who violate this subsection.
The accused shall have adequate
opportunity to develop and make a
record of all information and assistance
so furnished.

(g9) (1) Any person trafficking in controlled

substances shall be guilty of a felony
and upon conviction shall be
imprisoned for a term of thirty (30)




years and such sentence shall not be
reduced or suspended nor shall such
person be eligible for probation or
parole, the provisions of Sections 41-
29-149, 47-5-139, 47-7-3 and 47-7-33,
Mississippi Code of 1972, to the
contrary notwithstanding and shall be
fined not less than Five Thousand
Dollars ($5,000.00) nor more than One
Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00).

(2) “Trafficking in controlled
substances” as used herein means to
engage in three (3) or more component
offenses within any twelve (12)
consecutive month period where at
least two (2) of the component offenses
occurred in different counties. A
component offense is any act which
would constitute a violation of
subsection (a) of this section. Prior
convictions shall not be used as
component offenses to establish the
charge of trafficking in controlled
substances.

(3) The charge of trafficking in controlled
substances shall be set forth in one (1)
count of an indictment with each of the
component offenses alleged therein
and it may be charged and tried in any
county where a component offense
occurred. An indictment for trafficking
in controlled substances may also be
returned by the State Grand Jury of
Mississippi provided at least two (2) of
the component offenses occurred in
different circuit court districts.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

847-5-1001. Definitions

For purposes of Sections 47-5-1001
through 47-5-1015, the following words
shall have the meaning ascribed herein
unless the context shall otherwise
require:

(a) “Approved electronic monitoring device”
means a device approved by the
department, which is primarily intended
to record, and transmit information
regarding the offender's presence or
nonpresence in the home.

(b) “Correctional field officer” means the
supervising probation and parole officer
in charge of supervising the offender.

(c) “Court” means a circuit court having
jurisdiction to place an offender to the
intensive supervision program.

(d) “Department” means the Department of
Corrections.

(e) “House arrest” means the confinement
of a person convicted or charged with a
crime to his place of residence under
the terms and conditions established by
the department or court.

(f) “Operating capacity” means the total
number of state offenders which can be
safely and reasonably housed in
facilities operated by the department
and in local or county jails or other
facilities authorized to house state
offenders as certified by the
department, subject to applicable
federal and state laws and rules and
regulations.

(g9) “Participant” means an offender placed
into an intensive supervision program.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and




§47-5-1003. Program _eligibility;

court placement procedure

(1) An intensive supervision program
may be used as an alternative to
incarceration for offenders who are
low risk and nonviolent as selected
by the department or court. Any
offender convicted of a sex crime or
a felony violation of Section 41-29-139
(@) (1) shall not be placed in the
program.

(2) The court placing an offender in the
intensive supervision program may,
acting upon the advice and consent of
the commissioner and not later than
one (1) year after the defendant has
been delivered to the custody of the
department, suspend the further
execution of the sentence and place
the defendant on intensive supervision,
except when a death sentence or life
imprisonment is the maximum penalty
which may be imposed or if the
defendant has been confined for the
conviction of a felony on a previous
occasion in any court or courts of the
United States and of any state or
territories thereof or has been convicted
of a felony involving the use of a deadly
weapon.

(3) To protect and to ensure the safety of
the state’s citizens, any offender who
violates an order or condition of the
intensive supervision program may be
arrested by the correctional field officer
and placed in the actual custody of the
Department of Corrections. Such
offender is under the full and complete
jurisdiction of the department and
subject to removal from the program by
the classification-hearing officer.

(4) When any circuit or county court places
an offender in an intensive supervision
program, the court shall give notice to
the Mississippi Department of
Corrections within fifteen (15) days of
the court's decision to place the
offender in an intensive supervision
program. Notice shall be delivered to
the central office of the Mississippi
Department of Corrections and to the

regional office of the department, which
will be providing supervision to the
offender in an intensive supervision
program.

The courts may not require an offender
to complete the intensive supervision
program as a condition of probation or
post-release supervision.

Current through 2006 Sessions &
2007 Reg. Sess., Chs. 301, 302, 305 to
307, 311 to 313, 315,319 to 321, 323 to
329, 330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346,
349 to 353, 357, 360, 362. 365 and
378.

§47-5-1005. Implementation;
acquisition of electronic
monitoring devices

(1) The department shall
promulgate rules that prescribe
reasonable guidelines under which an
intensive supervision program shall
operate. These rules shall include, but
not be limited to, the following:

(a) The participant shall remain
within the interior premises or
within the property boundaries of
his or her residence at all times
during the hours designated by the
correctional field officer.

(b) Approved absences from the
home may include, but are not
limited to, the following:

(i) Working or employment
approved by the court or
department and traveling to or
from approved employment;

(i) Unemployed and
seeking employment approved
for the participant by the court
or department;

(iii) Undergoing medical,




psychiatric, mental health
treatment, counseling or other
treatment programs approved
for the participant by the court
or department;

(iv) Attending an educational
institution or a program
approved for the participant by
the court or department;

(v) Participating in
community work release or
community service program
approved for the participant by
the court or department; or

(vi) For another compelling
reason consistent with the
public interest, as approved by
the court or department.

(c) Except in case of a medical
emergency and approval by the
Commissioner of the Department of
Corrections, or his designee, or by
circuit court order for medical
purposes, no participant in the
intensive supervision program may
leave the jurisdiction of the State of
Mississippi.

(2) The department shall select and
approve all electronic monitoring
devices used under Sections 47-5-1001
through 47-5-1015.

(3) The department may lease the
equipment necessary to implement the
intensive supervision program and to
contract for the monitoring of such
devices. The department is authorized
to select the lowest price and best
source in contracting for these
services.

SECTION 2, [Effective date] This act

shall take effect and be in force from
and after its passage. APPROVED
April 21, 2007

8§47-5-1007. Monthly fee;
participant’s responsibilities

(1) Any participant in the
intensive supervision program who
engages in employment shall pay a
monthly fee to the department for each
month such person is enrolled in the
program. The department may waive
the monthly fee if the offender is a full-
time student or is engaged in vocational
training. Money received by the
department from participants in the
program shall be deposited into a
special fund, which is hereby created in
the State Treasury. It shall be used,
upon appropriation by the Legislature,
for the purpose of helping to defray the
costs involved in administering and
supervising such program.
Unexpended amounts remaining in
such special fund at the end of a fiscal
year shall not lapse into the State
General Fund, and any interest earned
on amounts in such special fund shall
be deposited to the credit of the special
fund.

(2) The participant shall admit
any correctional officer into his
residence at any time for purposes of
verifying the participant’'s compliance
with the conditions of his detention.

(3) The participant shall make
the necessary arrangements to allow
for correctional officers to visit the
participant's place of education or
employment at any time, based upon
the approval of the educational
institution or employer, for the purpose
of verifying the participant’'s compliance
with the conditions of his detention.

(4) The participant shall
acknowledge and participate with the
approved electronic monitoring device




as designated by the department at any
time for the purpose of verifying the
participant’'s compliance with the
conditions of his detention.

(5) The participant shall be
responsible for and shall maintain the
following:

(a) A working telephone line in
the participant’s home;

(b) A monitoring device in the
participants home, or on the
participant’s person or both; and

(c) A monitoring device in the
participants home and on the
participant’s person in the absence
of a telephone.

(6) The participant shall obtain
approval from the correctional field
officer before the participant changes
residence.

(7) The participant shall not
commit another crime during the period
of home detention ordered by the court
or department.

(8) Notice shall be given to the
participant that violation of the order of
home detention shall subject the
participant to prosecution for the crime
of escape as a felony.

(9) The participant shall abide
by other conditions as set by the
department.

REPEALER AND EFFECT OF 2005
LEGISLATION

<For repeal date of § 47-5-1001 to
47-5-1015, and for information
regarding the repeal of former sections
relating to electronic home detention,
the effect of Laws 2005, Ch. 485, and
ratification of certain Department of
Corrections actions taken from July 1,
2004 to April 6, 2005, see notes
preceding § 47-5- 1001 in West's

Annotated Mississippi Code.>

Current through 2006 Sessions &
2007 Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to
307, 311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323
to 330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

8§47-5-1009. Absolute immunity;
annual audits

(1) The department shall have
absolute immunity from liability for any
injury resulting from a determination by
a judge or correctional officer that an
offender shall be allowed to participate
in the electronic home detention
program.

(2) The Department of Audit shall
annually audit the records of the
department to ensure compliance with
Sections 47-5-1001 through 47-5-1015.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

(1) Before entering an order for
commitment for electronic house
arrest, the department shall inform the
participant and other persons residing
in the home of the nature and extent of
the approved electronic monitoring
devices by doing the following:

(a) Securing the written consent of
the participant in the program to
comply with the rules and regulations
of the program.

(b) Advising adult persons residing
in the home of the participant at the
time an order or commitment for
electronic house arrest is entered and




asking such persons to acknowledge
the nature and extent of approved
electronic monitoring devices.

(c) Insuring that the approved
electronic devices are minimally
intrusive upon the privacy of other
persons residing in the home while
remaining in compliance with Sections
47-5-1001 through 47-5-1015.

(2) The participant shall be
responsible for the cost of equipment
and any damage to such equipment.
Any intentional damage, any attempt to
defeat monitoring, any committing of a
criminal offense or any associating with
felons or known criminals, shall
constitute a violation of the program.

(3) Any person whose residence is
utilized in the program shall agree to
keep the home drug and alcohol free
and to exclude known felons and
criminals in order to provide a
noncriminal environment.
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§47-5-1013. Conditions of
continued participation

Participants enrolled in an intensive
supervision program shall be required
to:

(a) Maintain employment if
physically able, or full-time student
status at an approved school or
vocational trade, and make progress
deemed satisfactory to the correctional
field officer, or both, or be involved in
supervised job searches.

(b) Pay restitution and program
fees as directed by the department.
Program fees shall not be less than
Seventy-five Dollars ($75.00) per
month. The sentencing judge may
charge a program fee of less than
Seventy-five Dollars ($75.00) per
month in cases of extreme financial
hardship, when such judge determines
that the offender’s participation in the
program would provide a benefit to his
community. Program fees shall be
deposited in the special fund created in
Section 47-5-1007.

(c) Establish a place of residence
at a place approved by the correctional
field officer, and not change his
residence without the officer’s
approval. The correctional officer shall
be allowed to inspect the place of
residence for alcoholic beverages,
controlled substances and drug
paraphernalia.

(d) Remain at his place of
residence at all times except to go to
work, to attend school, to perform
community service and as specifically
allowed in each instance by the
correctional field officer.

(e) Allow administration of drug and
alcohol tests as requested by the field
officer.

(f) Perform not less than ten (10)
hours of community service each
month.

(9) Meet any other conditions
imposed by the court to meet the needs
of the offender and limit the risks to the
community.
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394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

847-5-1014. Monthly supervision
fee

(1) Participants who have been in
the intensive supervision program
since July 1, 2004, whether placed into
the program before or after July 1,
2004, shall pay a Fifty Dollar ($50.00)
monthly  supervision fee to the
Mississippi Department of Corrections
for their supervision from July 1, 2004,
or from the date the participant entered
the program after July 1, 2004, until
completion of the program, or April 6,
2005, or whichever occurs first. From
and after April 6, 2005, all participants
of the intensive supervision program
shall pay the fee as established in
Section 47-5-1013.

(2) The Department of Corrections
shall use its best effort to collect the
monthly supervision fees in arrearage
under this section.

(3) A participant’s failure to pay the
monthly fees in arrearage shall not be
deemed a violation of a condition of the
program, and the participant shall not
be removed from the program for
failure to pay the monthly fees in
arrearage.

(4) This section shall not apply to
any fees incurred after April 6, 2005.

(5) Any arrearage remaining under
this section at the end of the offender’s
participation in the program shall
automatically be reduced to a civil
judgment and upon notice by the
Department of Corrections shall be
recorded with the circuit court clerk in
the county wherein the participant
resides. The Department of

Corrections and/or the district attorney
shall use best efforts to collect the
judgment.
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§47-7-33. Probation; notice to
Department of Corrections;
support payments

(1) When it appears to the
satisfaction of any circuit court or
county court in the State of Mississippi;
having original jurisdiction over
criminal actions, or to the judge
thereof, that the ends of justice and the
best interest of the public, as well as
the defendant, will be served thereby,
such court, in termtime or in vacation,
shall have the power, after conviction
or a plea of guilty, except in a case
where a death sentence or life
imprisonment is the maximum penalty
which may be imposed or where the
defendant has been convicted of a
felony on a previous occasion in any
court or courts of the United States and
of any state or territories thereof, to
suspend the imposition or execution of
sentence, and place the defendant on
probation as herein provided, except
that the court shall not suspend the
execution of a sentence of
imprisonment after the defendant shall
have begun to serve such sentence. In
placing any defendant on probation,
the court, or judge, shall direct that
such defendant be under the
supervision of the Department of
Corrections.

(2) When any circuit or county
court places an offender on probation,
the court shall give notice to the




Mississippi Department of Corrections
within fifteen (15) days of the court’s
decision to place the offender on
probation. Notice shall be delivered to
the central office of the Mississippi
Department of Corrections and to the
regional office of the department which
will be providing supervision to the
offender on probation.

(3) When any circuit court or
county court places a person on
probation in accordance with the
provisions of this section and that
person is ordered to make any
payments to his family, if any member
of his family whom he is ordered to
support is receiving public assistance
through the State Department of Public
Welfare, the court shall order him to
make such payments to the county
welfare officer of the county rendering
public assistance to his family, for the
sole use and benefit of said family.
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§47-7-34. Post-release
supervision; imposition by court;
restrictions; termination

(1) When a court imposes a
sentence upon a conviction for any
felony committed after June 30, 1995,
the court, in addition to any other
punishment imposed if the other
punishment includes a term of
incarceration in a state or local
correctional facility, may impose a term
of post-release supervision. However,
the total number of years of
incarceration plus the total number of

years of post-release supervision shall
not exceed the maximum sentence
authorized to be imposed by law for the
felony committed. The defendant shall
be placed under post-release
supervision upon release from the term
of incarceration. The period of
supervision shall be established by the
court.

(2) The period of post-release
supervision shall be conducted in the
same manner as a like period of
supervised probation, including a
requirement that the defendant shall
abide by any terms and conditions as
the court may establish. Failure to
successfully abide by the terms and
conditions shall be grounds to
terminate the period of post-release
supervision and to recommit the
defendant to the correctional facility
from which he was previously released.
Procedures for termination and
recommitment shall be conducted in
the same manner as procedures for the
revocation of probation and imposition
of a suspended sentence.

(3) Post-release supervision
programs shall be operated through the
probation and parole unit of the
Division of Community Corrections of
the department. The maximum amount
of time that the Mississippi Department
of Corrections may supervise an
offender on the post-release
supervision program is five (5) years.
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8§47-7-35. Permissible conditions

of probation or post-release
supervision; Sex Offender
Registry check

(1) The courts referred to in
Section 47-7-33 or 47-7-34 shall
determine the terms and conditions of
probation or post-release supervision
and may alter or modify, at any time
during the period of probation or post-
release supervision the conditions and
may include among them the following
or any other:

That the, offender shall:

(a) Commit no offense against the
laws of this or any other state of
the United States, or of the United
States;

(b) Avoid injurious or vicious
habits;

(c) Avoid persons or places of
disreputable or harmful character;

(d) Report to the probation and
parole officer as directed;

(e) Permit the probation and parole
officer to visit him at home or
elsewhere;

(f) Work faithfully at suitable
employment so far as possible;

(9) Remain within a specified area;

(h) Pay his fine in one (1) or
several sums;

(i) Support his dependents;

(j) Submit, as provided in Section
47-5-601, to any type of breath,
saliva or urine chemical analysis
test, the purpose of which is to

detect the possible presence of
alcohol or a substance prohibited or
controlled by any law of the State
of Mississippi or the United States.

(2) When any court places a
defendant on misdemeanor probation,
the court must cause to be conducted a
search of the probationer’'s name or
other identifying information against
the registration information regarding
sex offenders maintained under Title
45, Chapter 33. The search may be
conducted using the Internet site
maintained by the Department of Public
Safety Sex Offender Registry.
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§47-7-37. Probation and post-
release supervision violations;
release with or without bail;
procedure; duration

The period of probation shall be fixed
by the court, and may at any time be
extended or terminated by the court, or
judge in vacation. Such period with
any extension thereof shall not exceed
five (5) years, except that in cases of
desertion and/or failure to support
minor children, the period of probation
may be fixed and/or extended by the
court for so long as the duty to support
such minor children exists.

At any time during the period of
probation the court, or judge in
vacation, may issue a warrant for
violating any of the conditions of
probation or suspension of sentence
and cause the probationer to be
arrested. Any probation and parole

officer may arrest a probationer without




a warrant, or may deputize any other
officer with power of arrest to do so by
giving him a written statement setting
forth that the probationer has, in the
judgment of the probation and parole
officer, violated the conditions of

probation. Such written statement
delivered with the probationer by the
arresting officer to the official in charge
of a county jail or other place of
detention shall be sufficient warrant for
the detention of the probationer.

If a probationer or offender is subject
to registration as a sex offender, the
court must make a finding that the
probationer or offender is not a danger
to the public prior to release with or
without bail. In determining the danger
posed by the release of the offender or
probationer, the court may consider the
nature and circumstances of the
violation and any new offenses
charged; the offender or probationer’s
past and present conduct, including
convictions of crimes and any record of
arrests without conviction for crimes
involving violence or sex crimes; any
other evidence of allegations of
unlawful sexual conduct or the use of
violence by the offender or probationer;
the offender or probationer’'s family
ties, length of residence in the
community, employment history and
mental condition; the offender or
probationer’s history and conduct
during the probation or other
supervised release and any other
previous supervisions, including
disciplinary records of previous
incarcerations; the likelihood that the
offender or probationer will engage
again in a criminal course of conduct;
the weight of the evidence against the
offender or probationer; and any other
facts the court considers relevant.

The probation and parole officer after
making an arrest shall present to the

detaining authorities a similar
statement of the circumstances of
violation. The probation and parole
officer shall at once notify the court of
the arrest and detention of the
probationer and shall submit a report in
writing showing in what manner the
probationer has violated the conditions
of probation. Thereupon, or upon an
arrest by warrant as herein provided,
the court, in termtime or vacation, shall
cause the probationer to be brought
before it and may continue or revoke
all or any part of the probation or the
suspension of sentence, and may
cause the sentence imposed to be
executed or may impose any part of the
sentence which might have been
imposed at the time of conviction.

If the probationer is arrested in a circuit
court district in the State of Mississippi
other than that in which he was
convicted, the probation and parole
officer, upon the written request of the
sentencing judge, shall furnish to the
circuit court or the county court of the
county in which the arrest is made, or
to the judge of such court, a report
concerning the probationer, and such
court or the judge in vacation shall
have authority, after a hearing, to
continue or revoke all or any part of
probation or all or any part of the
suspension of sentence, and may in
case of revocation proceed to deal with
the case as if there had been no
probation. In such case, the clerk of
the court in which the order of
revocation is issued shall forward a
transcript of such order to the clerk of
the court of original jurisdiction, and
the clerk of that court shall proceed as
if the order of revocation had been
issued by the court of original
jurisdiction.  Upon the revocation of
probation or suspension of sentence of
any offender, such offender shall be
placed in the legal custody of the State




Department of Corrections and shall be
subject to the requirements thereof.

Any probationer who removes himself
from the State of Mississippi without
permission of the court placing him on
probation, or the court to which
jurisdiction has been transferred, shall
be deemed and considered a fugitive
from justice and shall be subject to
extradition as now provided by law. No
part of the time that one is on probation
shall be considered as any part of the
time that he shall be sentenced to
serve.

The arresting officer, except when a
probation and parole officer, shall be
allowed the same fees as now provided
by law for arrest on warrant, and such
fees shall be taxed against the
probationer and paid as now provided
by law.

The arrest, revocation and
recommitment procedures of this
section also apply to persons who are
serving a period of post-release
supervision imposed by the court.
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847-7-39. Transfer of probation;
residency change

If, for good and sufficient reasons, a
probationer desires to change his
residence within or without the state,
such transfer may be effected by
application to his field supervisor which
transfer shall be subject to the court’s
consent and subject to such

regulations as the court, or judge, may
require.
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§47-7-41. Discharge from
probation; restoring rights

When a probationer shall be
discharged from probation by the court
of original jurisdiction, the field
supervisor, upon receiving a written
request from the probationer, shall
forward a written report of the record of
the probationer to the Division of
Community Corrections of the
department, which shall present a copy
of this report to the Governor. The
Governor may, in his discretion, at any
time thereafter by appropriate
executive order restore any civil rights
lost by the probationer by virtue of his
conviction or plea of guilty in the court
of original jurisdiction.
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8§47-7-47. Probation; notification;
additional conditions authorized;

restitution; alcohol and drug
tests
(1) The judge of any circuit court

may place an offender on a program of
earned probation after a period of
confinement as set out herein and the
judge may seek the advice of the
commissioner and shall direct that the




defendant be under the supervision of
the department.

(2) (a) Any circuit court or county
court may, upon its own motion, acting
upon the advice and consent of the
commissioner not earlier than thirty
(30) days nor later than one (1) year
after the defendant has been delivered
to the custody of the department, to
which he has been sentenced, suspend
the further execution of the sentence
and place the defendant on earned
probation, except when a death
sentence or life imprisonment is the
maximum penalty which may be
imposed or if the defendant has been
confined two (2) or more times for the
conviction of a felony on a previous
occasion in any court or courts of the
United States and of any state or
territories thereof or has been
convicted of a felony involving the use
of a deadly weapon.

(b) The authority granted in this
subsection shall be exercised by
the judge who imposed sentence on
the defendant, or his successor.

(c) The time Ilimit imposed by
paragraph (a) of this subsection is
not applicable to those defendants
sentenced to the custody of the
department prior to April 14, 1977.
Persons who are convicted of
crimes that carry mandatory
sentences shall not be eligible for
earned probation.

(3) When any circuit or county
court places an offender on earned
probation, the court shall give notice to
the Mississippi Department of
Corrections within fifteen (15) days of
the court’'s decision to place the
offender on earned probation. Notice
shall be delivered to the central office
of the Mississippi Department of
Corrections and to the regional office

of the department, which will be
providing supervision to the offender
on earned probation.

(4) If the court places any person
on probation or earned probation, the
court may order the person, as a
condition of probation, to a period of
confinement and treatment at a private
or public agency or institution, either
within or without the state, which treats
emotional, mental or drug-related
problems. Any person who, as a
condition of probation, is confined for
treatment at an out-of-state facility
shall be supervised pursuant to Section
47-7-71, and any person confined at a
private agency shall not be confined at
public expense. Time served in any
such agency or institution may be
counted as time required to meet the
criteria of subsection (2)(a).

(5) If the court places any person
on probation or earned probation, the
court may order the person to make
appropriate restitution to any victim of
his crime or to society through the
performance of reasonable work for the
benefit of the community.

(6) If the court places any person
on probation or earned probation, the
court may order the person, as a
condition of probation, to submit, as
provided in Section 47-5-601, to any
type of breath, saliva or urine chemical
analysis test, the purpose of which is to
detect the possible presence of alcohol
or a substance prohibited or controlled
by any law of the State of Mississippi
or the United States.
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8§47-7-49. Monthly fees for

supervision; depositing funds

(1) Any offender on probation,
parole, earned-release supervision,
post-release supervision, earned
probation or any other offender under
the field supervision of the Community
Services Division of the department
shall pay to the department the sum of
Forty-five Dollars ($45.00) per month
by certified check or money order
unless a hardship waiver is granted.
An offender shall make the initial
payment within thirty (30) days after
being released from imprisonment
unless a hardship waiver is granted. A
hardship waiver may be granted by the
sentencing court or the Department of
Corrections. A hardship waiver may
not be granted for a period of time
exceeding ninety (90) days. The
commissioner or his designee shall
deposit Forty Dollars ($40.00) of each
payment received into a special fund in
the State Treasury, which is hereby
created, to be known as the Community
Service Revolving Fund. Expenditures
from this fund shall be made for: (a)
the establishment of restitution and
satellite  centers; and (b) the
establishment, administration and
operation of the department’s Drug
Identification Program and the
intensive and field supervision
program. The Forty Dollars ($40.00)
may be used for salaries and to
purchase equipment, supplies and
vehicles to be used by the Community
Services Division in the performance of
its duties. Expenditures for the
purposes established in this section
may be made from the fund upon
requisition by the commissioner, or his
designee.

Of the remaining amount, Three Dollars
($3.00) of each payment shall be

deposited in the Crime Victims’
Compensation Fund created in Section
99-41- 29, and Two Dollars ($2.00)
shall be deposited into the Training
Revolving Fund created pursuant to
Section 47-7-51. When a person is
convicted of a felony in this state, in
addition to any other sentence it may
impose, the court may, in its discretion,
order the offender to pay a state
assessment not to exceed the greater
of One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00)
or the maximum fine that may be
imposed for the offense, into the Crime
Victims’ Compensation Fund created
pursuant to Section 99-41-29.

Any federal funds made available to
the department for training or for
training facilities, equipment or
services shall be deposited in the
Correctional Training Revolving Fund
created in Section 47-7-51. The funds
deposited in this account shall be used
to support an expansion of the
department’s training program to
include the renovation of facilities for
training purposes, purchase of
equipment and contracting of training
services with community colleges in the
state.

No offender shall be required to make
this payment for a period of time longer
than ten (10) years.

(2) The offender may be
imprisoned until the payments are
made if the offender is financially able
to make the payments and the court in
the county where the offender resides
so finds, subject to the limitations
hereinafter set out. The offender shall
not be imprisoned if the offender is
financially unable to make the
payments and so states to the court in
writing, under oath, and the court so
finds.

(3) This section shall stand




repealed from and after June 30, 2008.

REPEALER

<This section is repealed by its own
terms from and after June 30, 2008.>
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§99-15-26. Release after
successful completion of
conditions

(1) In all criminal cases, felony and
misdemeanor, other than crimes
against the person, the circuit or
county court shall be empowered, upon
the entry of a plea of guilty by a
criminal defendant, to withhold
acceptance of the plea and sentence
thereon pending successful completion
of such conditions as may be imposed
by the court pursuant to subsection (2)
of this section. In all misdemeanor
criminal cases, other than crimes
against the person, the justice or
municipal court shall be empowered,
upon the entry of a plea of guilty by a
criminal defendant, to withhold
acceptance of the plea and sentence
thereon pending successful completion
of such conditions as may be imposed
by the court pursuant to subsection (2)
of this section. No person having
previously qualified wunder the
provisions of this section or having
ever been convicted of a felony shall
be eligible to qualify for release in
accordance with this section. A person
shall not be eligible to qualify for
release in accordance with this section
if such person has been charged (a)

with an offense pertaining to the sale,
barter, transfer, manufacture,
distribution or dispensing of a
controlled substance, or the
possession with intent to sell, barter,
transfer, manufacture, distribute or
dispense a controlled substance, as
provided in Section 41-29-139(a)(1),
except for a charge wunder said
provision when the controlled
substance involved is one (1) ounce or
less of marijuana; (b) with an offense
pertaining to the possession of one (1)
kilogram or more of marijuana as
provided in Section 41-29-139(c)(2)(F)
and (G) ; or (c) with an offense under
the Mississippi Implied Consent Law.

(2)(a) Conditions which the circuit,
county, justice or municipal court may
impose under subsection (1) of this
section shall consist of:

(i) Reasonable restitution to the
victim of the crime.

(ii) Performance of not more than
nine hundred sixty (960) hours of
public service work approved by the
court.

(iii) Payment of a fine not to exceed
the statutory limit.

(iv) Successful completion of drug,
alcohol, psychological or
psychiatric treatment or any
combination thereof if the court
deems such treatment necessary.

(v) The circuit or county court, in its
discretion, may require the
defendant to remain in the program
subject to good behavior for a
period of time not to exceed five (5)
years. The justice or municipal
court, in its discretion, may require
the defendant to remain in the




program subject to good behavior
for a period of time not to exceed
two (2) years.

(b) Conditions, which the circuit or
county court may impose under
subsection (1) of this section, also
include successful completion of a
regimented inmate discipline program.

(3) When the court has imposed
upon the defendant the conditions set
out in this section, the court shall
release the bail bond, if any.

(4) Upon successful completion of
the court-imposed conditions permitted
by subsection (2) of this section, the
court shall direct that the cause be
dismissed and the case be closed.

(5) Upon petition therefor, the court
shall expunge the record of any case in
which an arrest was made, the person
arrested was released and the case
was dismissed or the charges were
dropped or there was no disposition of
such case.

(6) This section shall take effect
and be in force from and after March
31, 1983.

SECTION 2. [Effective date] This act
shall take effect and be in force from
and after July 1, 2007.

§99-15-101. Short title

Sections 99-15-101 through 99-15-127
shall be known and may be cited as the
“Pretrial Intervention Act.”
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§99-15-103. Definitions

For purposes of Sections 99-15-101
through 99-15-127, the following words
shall have the meaning ascribed herein
unless the context shall otherwise
require:

(a) “Prosecutorial discretion”
means the power of the district
attorney to consider all circumstances
of criminal proceedings and to
determine whether any legal action is
to be taken and, if so taken, of what
kind and degree and to what
conclusion.

(b) “Noncriminal disposition” means
the dismissal of a criminal charge
without prejudice to the state to
reinstate criminal proceedings on
motion of the district attorney.
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§99-15-105. Establishment of
program

(1) Each district attorney, with the
consent of a circuit court judge of his
district, shall have the prosecutorial
discretion as defined herein and may
as a matter of such prosecutorial
discretion establish a pretrial
intervention program in the circuit court
districts.

(2) A pretrial intervention program
shall be under the direct supervision




and control of the district attorney.

(3) An offender must make
application to an intervention program
within the time prescribed by the
district attorney.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-107. Eligibility

A person shall not be considered for
intervention if he or she has previously
been accepted into an intervention
program nor shall intervention be
considered for those individuals
charged with any crime of violence
including, but not limited to murder,
aggravated assault, rape, armed
robbery, manslaughter or burglary of a
dwelling house. A person shall not be
eligible for acceptance into the
intervention program provided by
Sections 99-15-101 through 99- 15-127
if such person has been charged (a)
with an offense pertaining to the sale,
barter, transfer, manufacture,
distribution or dispensing of a
controlled substance, or the
possession with intent to sell, barter,
transfer, manufacture, distribute or
dispense a controlled substance, as
provided in Section 41-29-139(a)(1),
Mississippi Code of 1972, except for a
charge under said provision when the
controlled substance involved is one
(1) ounce or less of marihuana; or (b)
with an offense pertaining to the
possession of one (1) kilogram or more
of marihuana as provided in Section
41-29-139(c)(2)(D), Mississippi Code of
1972.
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Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-109. Prerequisites;
offenders held in contempt for
failure to pay fine or restitution

(1) Intervention shall be
appropriate only when:

(a) The offender is eighteen (18)
years of age or older;

(b) There is substantial likelihood
that justice will be served if the
offender is placed in an intervention
program;

(c) It is determined that the needs
of the offender and the state can
better be met outside the traditional
criminal justice process;

(d) It is apparent that the offender
poses no threat to the community;

(e) It appears that the offender is
unlikely to be involved in further
criminal activity;

(f) The offender, in those cases
where it is required, is likely to
respond quickly to rehabilitative
treatment;

(9) The offender has no significant
history of prior delinquency or
criminal activity;

(h) The offender has been indicted
and is represented by an attorney;
and

(i) The court has determined that
the office of district attorney or the
department of corrections has




sufficient support staff to administer
such intervention program.

(2) When jurisdiction in a case
involving a child is acquired by the
circuit court pursuant to a transfer from
the youth court, the provision of
subsection (1)(a) of this section shall
not be applicable.

(3) Notwithstanding any other
provision of this section, in all criminal
cases wherein an offender has been
held in contempt of court for failure to
pay fines or restitution, the offender
may be placed in pretrial intervention
for the purpose of collecting unpaid
restitution and fines regardless of any
prior criminal conviction, whether
felony or misdemeanor.
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Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

8§99-15-111. Information compiled
on offender

Prior to admittance of an offender into
an intervention program, the district
attorney may require the offender to
furnish information concerning the
offender’'s past criminal record,
education and work record, family
history, medical or psychiatric
treatment or care received,
psychological tests taken and other
information which, in the district
attorney’s opinion, bears on the
decision as to whether the offender
should be admitted.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to
307,311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-113. Recommendations
from victims and police

Prior to any person’s admittance to a
pretrial intervention program the victim,
if any, of the crime for which the
applicant is charged and the law
enforcement agency employing the
arresting officer shall be asked to
comment in writing as to whether or not
the applicant should be allowed to
enter an intervention program. In each
case involving admission to an
intervention program, the district
attorney and a circuit court judge of his
district shall consider the
recommendations of the law
enforcement agency and the victim, if
any, in making a decision.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-115. Waiver and
agreement

An offender who enters an intervention
program shall:

(a) Waive, in writing and contingent
upon his successful completion of the
program, his or her right to a speedy
trial;

(b) Agree, in writing, to the tolling




while in the program of all periods of
limitation established by statutes or
rules of court;

(c) Agree, in writing, to the
conditions of the intervention program
established by the district attorney
which shall not require or include a
guilty plea;

(d) In the event there is a victim of
the crime, agree, in writing, to make
restitution to the victim within a
specified period of time and in an
amount to be determined by the district
attorney and approved by the court;
and

(e) Agree, in writing, to waive
extradition.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to
307,311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-117. Terms of program;
court approval

In any case in which an offender
agrees to an intervention program, a
specific agreement shall be made
between the district attorney and the
offender. This agreement shall include
the terms of the intervention program,
the length of the program, which shall
not exceed three (3) years, and a
section therein stating the period of
time after which the prosecutor will
either dismiss the charge or seek a
conviction based upon that charge.
The agreement shall be signed by the
offender and his or her counsel and
filed in the district attorney’s office.
Before an offender is admitted to an

intervention program, the court having
jurisdiction of the charge must approve
of the offender’'s admission to the
program and the terms of the
agreement.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-119. Written reports

In all cases where an offender is
accepted for intervention a written
report shall be made and retained on
file in the district attorney’s office,
regardless of whether or not the
offender successfully completes the
intervention program. The district
attorney shall furnish to the Mississippi
Justice Information Center personal
identification information on each
person accepted for intervention. This
information shall only be released by
the Mississippi Justice Information
Center in those cases where a district
attorney inquires as to whether a
person has previously been accepted
into an intervention program.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-121. Restitution

Prior to the completion of the pretrial
intervention program the offender shall




make restitution, as determined by the
district attorney and approved by the
court, to the victim, if any, and shall
pay any expenses to the administrator
of this program which are incurred as a
result of his participation in the
program. The amount of such
expenses shall be determined by the
district attorney and made part of the
initial agreement between the district
attorney and the offender.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-123. Disposition of
charges

(1) In the event an offender
successfully completes a pretrial
intervention program, the district
attorney, with the approval of a circuit
court judge of his district, may make a
noncriminal disposition of the charge or
charges pending against the offender.

(2) In the event the offender
violates the conditions of the program
agreement: (a) the district attorney
may terminate the offender’s
participation in the program, (b) the
waiver executed pursuant to Section
99-15-115 shall be void on the date the
offender is removed from the program
for the violation, and (c) the
prosecution of pending criminal
charges against the offender shall be
resumed by the district attorney.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to

353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-125. Reference to program
as inducement to confession

No law enforcement officer shall refer
to, mention and/or offer participation in
this program as an inducement to any
statement, confession or waiver of any
constitutional rights of any person
accused of a crime except those
enumerated in Section 99-15-115.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430

§99-15-127. Support of program

The Department of Corrections,
Division of Community Corrections, is
directed to support Sections 99-15-101
through 99-15-127 to the extent that
field support personnel are available in
circuit court districts, and the
Commissioner of Corrections shall
certify to the court that the Division of
Community Corrections has sufficient
field parole officers to supervise and
oversee those individuals who may be
placed in this program by the court.

Current through 2006 Sessions & 2007
Reg. Sess., Chs. 301,302,305 to 307,
311 to 313, 315, 319 to 321, 323 to
330, 335, 339, 341, 343, 346, 349 to
353, 357, 360, 362, 365, 378, 383, 387,
394, 397, 403, 405, 408, 410 to 412,
419, 422, 425, 426, and 430




§99-37-19. Restitution centers

The boards of supervisors of the
several counties and the governing
authorities of municipalities are hereby
authorized to cooperate with the
Department of Corrections in the
establishment of restitution centers.
Such centers may house both
probationers referred by the circuit
courts as well as inmates transferred
from other facilities of the Department
of Corrections as provided in Section
47-5-110. In order to qualify for
placement in a restitution center, an
offender must: (a) be convicted of a
nonviolent offense that constitutes a
felony, (b) not be convicted of a sex
crime, and (c) not have drug, alcohol,
emotional or physical problems so
serious that the offender appears
unlikely to meet obligations of the
restitution program. Such centers shall
be operated by the Department of
Corrections. County or municipal
property may be utilized with the
approval of the board of supervisors or
municipal governing authority for the
construction, renovation and
maintenance of facilities owned by the
state or a local political subdivision.
Such facility may be leased to the
Department of Corrections for a period
of time for use as a restitution center.

It is the intent of this section that
county and local governments
contribute only to the establishment,
renovation and maintenance of the
physical plant of a restitution center
and that the Department of Corrections
support the operation of, and have sole
jurisdiction over and responsibility for
offenders in, such restitution program.

This section shall stand repealed on
July 1, 2011.

REPEALER

<This section is repealed by its own
terms on July 1, 2011.>
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	Message from the Commissioner

	The Mississippi Department of Corrections is charged with the care, custody, control and treatment of over 50,000 convicted felons over half of whom are serving their sentences in the Community. MDOC’s fundamental mission is provide these services while exercising due diligence to ensure public safety.  

	In 1995 the Legislature passed “Truth in Sentencing” mandating that inmates serve 85% of their sentence.  The 1995 fiscal year ended with an inmate population of 12,007 and a budget of $119.3 million.  By the end of the 2007 fiscal year the inmate population has grown to 22,141and the budget has increased to  $306.3 million.   These figures dramatically demonstrate the need to use alternatives to incarceration to curtail the ever increasing cost of incarceration. 

	This publication has been prepared by MDOC to summarize programs that offer alternatives to incarceration or limited incarceration for offenders who meet certain criteria.  MDOC is committed to providing excellence in both correctional policy and public service.  

	The Community Corrections Programs in this report can help provide relief to the State’s escalating prison costs while maintaining public safety and providing opportunities for rehabilitation. 

	Christopher B. Epps

	Commissioner 
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